2017 Installation of Officers & Directors

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                           
Contact:  Maria Moore, Executive Vice President
(540) 898-2730
[email protected]

Mike Toalson Conducts Installation

of Fredericksburg Area Builders Association

Officers & Directors

The Fredericksburg Area Builders Association, serving the City of Fredericksburg and the Counties of Caroline, King George, Orange, Spotsylvania and Stafford, held their Award Ceremony and Installation of Officers and Directors at the Annual President’s Ball on Friday, January 13, 2017 at the Inn at Old Silk Mill in Fredericksburg, VA.

Sean Halsey2016 President, Sean Halsey with Halsey Homes applauded the 2016 Leadership, volunteers and staff for their hard work.  Halsey stated, “It has been an honor to serve as FABA’s 2016 President.  Our region continued to see improvement in the building industry.  We are all looking forward to more improvement and membership growth this year!!”



The Association was honored to have Michael Toalson, Chief Executive Officer of Home Builders Association of Virginia, participating in this exciting event.  After delivering some encouraging remarks, Toalson conducted the installation of the 2017 Officers and Directors.

The following officers were installed: President – David Phelps, ICF Homes of Virginia;

1st Vice President – Gene Brown, Atlantic Builders; 2nd Vice President – Marc Simes, Newland Communities; Treasurer – Scott Hine, Assurance Financial; Secretary – Sara Cushing, Legacy Engineering; and Associate V.P. – John Reid, Embrace Home Loans.

The following individuals were installed as directors of the Fredericksburg Area Builders Association:

Builder Directors: John Gasque (Toll Brothers), Tim Hall (Tricord Homes), Brandon Serbay (Built Right Homes) and Dan Sandoval (Republic Home Builders).

Associate Directors: Bruce Reese (Legacy Engineering), Conrad LaBossiere (Builders FirstSource) and Stacey Lampman (Spaces Design Studio).

Dave PhelpsAfter being installed as the 2017 President, Dave Phelps, ICF Homes of Virginia, shared encouraging remarks as he looks forward to an improved market and pledged to work closely with his fellow board members to ensure that FABA continues to provide quality programs and services to its membership.




The award ceremony was conducted by last year’s winners from each category where members were honored for their commitment to the industry, to the FABA and to our community.  The following awards were presented:

Rookie of the Year Award presented to Barbara Parks, First Heritage Mortgage. A second Rookie of the Year Award presented to Joey Farrar, Bin There Dump That.

Committee Chairman of the Year was presented to Frank Sigmon, Builders FirstSource.

The Spike Award (Membership Recruitment) was presented to Sean Halsey, Halsey Homes.

30 Year Continuous Membership presented to Dominion Virginia Power.

The President’s Award was presented to Dan Sandoval, Republic Home Builders.

Lifetime Service Award and Newest Life Director for FABA is Eddie Payne, Mid South.

Tammy Reid received the Associate of the Year Award. To be considered for this award an individual must be extremely visible and active with the Association, served on Committees, attend events, volunteer, or serve in a very specialized role for the Association.

Marc Simes, Newland Communities was recognized with the Builder of the Year Award.  This honor is bestowed upon only those who have impeccable credentials, and are well respected as outstanding craftsmen and businessmen.

For more information on the FABA awards and installation or programs, please contact Maria Moore at (540) 898-2730 or at [email protected].

Find us at