Stafford County hits pause on downzoning but it’s still on the table

*Downzoning will NOT be voted on Tonight.*Due to ongoing concerns about COVID-19, Stafford County has shuttered their administrative buildings to the public and Board of Supervisors meetings are being held virtually.  The Board will defer action on downzoning until the public can safely attend to let their voices be heard.  FABA continues to monitor this situation and provide input to the Board.  It is important that our members do the same!  This is a great time to send them a quick note expressing your opposition and letting the Board know you’re still engaged.

If you are concerned about this issue, email the Stafford County Board of Supervisors directly to keep our concerns on their radar.  You will find a sample letter and email addresses for all Supervisors below.   BACKGROUND INFORMATION Stafford County Looks to Take Private Property Rights from Rural LandownersStafford County continues to pursue efforts to downzone property in the A-1 agricultural zoning district.  This effort will now require more acreage to create a buildable lot, changing the minimum lot size from 1 house per 3 acres to 1 house per 10 acres.  This action will reduce land values in the rural areas, decimate decades of wealth creation for Stafford County families, and will rob landowners of the right to do with their land as they see fit. 

The County’s own Commissioner of the Revenue estimates that a 10-acre downzoning could reduce rural land values between 50% and 60%.  Those that would be most impacted are smaller landowners who typically use their acreage to subdivide for family or to sell of a lot or two to fund college or retirement.  In fact, the County is only off 94 homes from their Comprehensive Plan target for rural housing development. 

Supervisor Meg Bohmke:  mbohmke@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Tom Coen:  tcoen@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Cindy Shelton:  cindyshelton@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Tinesha Allen:  tallen@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Gary Snellings:  gsnellings@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Crystal Vanuch:  cvanuch@staffordcountyva.gov

Supervisor Mark Dudenhefer:  mdudenhefer@staffordcountyva.gov 

SAY NO TO STAFFORD COUNTY DOWNZONING!

Sample Letter